Cape to Rio start – official press release

A 12 or 30 day, 3 600 nautical mile transatlantic voyage to Rio. Today was the start of the 14th highly tactical Cape to Rio event, from Table Bay Cape Town to Rio de Janeiro Brazil. Records for the crossing of the Atlantic seem set to tumble in both the Monohull and Multihull divisions, with Maserati or Scartlet Runner as favourites to win. Sailing from Cape Town to a finish line of Copacabana in Rio de Janeiro, there are no ... Read More »

Cape to Rio Race – Start

4 January 2014 A light westerly was forecast, with this materialising as the fog lifted over Table Bay. The start was set off green point, with a short leg to a laid mark, before boats bore away and set their spinnakers to a mark off Milnerton and then Blouberg. Maserati led the fleet to the first mark closely followed by Scarlett Runner and Explora. Downwind saw Scarlett Runner able to sail lower, and with a slightly better VMG. When the ... Read More »

Sailor of the Year – 2013

Sailor of the Year – 2013 Asenathi Jim by Roy Dunster With skipper Roger Hudson, helmsman Asenathi Jim was the sole South African entrant at the 2012 Olympic Games. This was in spite of starting their campaign just 18 months earlier and the 470 having no history in South Africa. From that early success, the team now has Brazil 2016 firmly in their sights. The team took Silver in the 470s at Sail Melbourne at the end of 2012, and ... Read More »


Two pilots, four engineers, six chief executive officers, a plethora of gruelling ultra-marathons, mountain bike race challenges, transatlantic yacht crossings, mountain climbing summits, and many lasting memories, is the driving force behind this year’s entry of a group of Cape Town friends and sportsmen into one of the world’s most challenging and scenic yacht racing championships, the annual Cape to Rio. The DStv Explora, under the leadership of Craig Sutherland, managing director of a top structural engineering firm, is a ... Read More »

Conny van Rietschoten has passed away

‘The Flying Dutchman’, Conny van Rietschoten, the only skipper to have won the Whitbread Round the World Race race twice (now the Volvo Ocean Race), will always form an important part of this race’s history. The VOR has published a story on their website with quotes from friends and sailors who knew and sailed with him. Read More »

Crocs Regatta 2013 – pics by Trevor Wilkins

check out these stunning images from Trevor Wilkins – master sailing photographer. Trevor Wilkins Read More »

Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image of 2013

         A jury composed of specialists from the yacht racing and photographic industries chose Abner Kingman’s photograph taken during the 34th America’s Cup for the  Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image award 2013. The delegates from the World Yacht Racing Forum chose Rick Tomlinson’s photograph for the ‘Public Award’. Gothenburg (SWE), December 11, 2013 – 82 professional photographers spanning nineteen countries took part in the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2013. US photographer Abner Kingman, based in San Francisco, won the main award ... Read More »

Clipper Race fleet survives 130 knot winds as teams fight to finish line

The crew of the Clipper 2013-14 Round the World Yacht Race are mostly amateur, but the conditions they are continuing to face in Race 4 are anything but. Their tough Southern Ocean education reached a powerful new level in this second week as hurricane force gusts of up to 130 knots tore through the fleet. Skippers reported winds that screamed through the riggings like banshees and made your face feel as if it would blow off, evil skies, biblical level ... Read More »

2013 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year

Australian Mathew Belcher and New Zealanders Jo Aleh & Olivia ‘Polly’ Powrie were named male and female winners of the 2013 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards during a ceremony held in Muscat, Sultanate of Oman on Tuesday 12 November. Mathew Belcher – Class And Consistency Mathew Belcher from Queensland, Australia, has been awarded the coveted title of ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year. Also nominated in 2010 and 2012, Belcher’s achievement is testament to his excellence ... Read More »