Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image Award


German photographer Sören Hese wins the 2017 award.

134 photographers spanning 27 countries submitted a picture for the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image award 2017. Sören Hese wins the main prize, whilst the delegates from the Yacht Racing Forum and World Sailing’s annual conference elected Tomàs Moya. Zita Kovács obtained most votes on the social networks and wins the Public Award.

The international jury decided to honour German photographer Sören Hese and his surprising picture taken from a drone during the 5O5 German championships. Based in Berlin, Hese has been working as an independent photographer since 1990. “I am very proud because this contest is the absolute reference in yacht racing photography “, he said. “I took this picture using a time-motion-stack imaging concept, capturing the image basically as a time series from a quadrocopter. I found its graphical structure very interesting and also story telling, and so decided to submit it to the contest. I am very touched by this victory, against all those prestigious photographers. There were also so many major international events this year that I am really surprised to have won.”

Sören Hese received the prestigious title, a wall clock provided by luxury watchmaker Hublot and €1000 prize money. Dmitry Sharomov and Sander van der Borch complete the podium.

Tomàs Moya won the Yacht Racing Forum award, based on votes from the delegates of the Yacht Racing Forum and World Sailing’s annual conference in Puerto Vallarta.

Zita Kovács wins the Public Award, based on votes by the public on the social networks.

Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2017 – Top 10
1. Sören Hese (GER)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
2. Dmitry Sharomov (RUS)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
3. Sander van der Borch (NED)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
4. Tobias Stoerkle (GER)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
5. Pedro Martinez (ESP)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
6. Nicolas Jutzi (SUI)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
7. Cristina Balcells (ESP)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
8. Marina Semenova (RUS)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
9. Stephanie Billarant (FRA)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
10. Elena Otekina (RUS)  VIEW IMAGE HERE

Yacht Racing Forum award – Top 5
1. Tomàs Moya  VIEW IMAGE HERE
2. Sander van der Borch  VIEW IMAGE HERE
3. Cristina Balcells  VIEW IMAGE HERE
4. Martina Orsini  VIEW IMAGE HERE
5. Chris Cameron  VIEW IMAGE HERE

Public Award – Top 5
1. Zita Kovács (HUN)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
2. Max Ranchi (ITA)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
3. Elena Otekina (RUS)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
4. Pedro Martinez (ESP)  VIEW IMAGE HERE
5. Gérald Coulon (FRA)  VIEW IMAGE HERE

Check Also

“Talking Sailing” From My Archives. Yachtsmen of the Year

By Richard Crockett Some random browsing had me stumble upon this report from 1989 when …