“Talking Sailing” From My Archives. Point Yacht Club Win 2013 Lipton

2013 Lipton Cup Winners.
L-R. Struan Campbell; Alec Lanham-Love; Trevor Donald (Commodore PYC); Richard Weddell; Vernon Goss (sponsor); Rudy McNeill; Byron Watt.

by Richard Crockett

This is a very difficult year to cover here as the winners on the day basked in the glory of having won the Lipton Cup, yet some years later Retired After Finishing due to a technicality.

The real winners, the Point Yacht Club, did not have the pleasure of the celebrations on the day, both on and off the water, and had to be content with second place at the time. The Lipton Cup was presented to them at a private luncheon at the PYC some four years later – a massive anti-climax for those who came so close on the day.

The article headline was appropriate at the time, and is probably even more appropriate now. The racing at the time was tough, close and unrelenting – which is what Lipton Cup racing should be about. So read the report – all the while remembering that the winners mentioned ultimately did not win.

READ THE RACING REPORT HERE:  Pages from 2013 09 – SAILING Magazine – OCR – LR

SEE THE REVISED RESULTS HERE:  2013 Lipton Cup – Revised Results