Raymarine Sailor of the Month. Calling for Nominations

Mike Hayton – the 2019 Sailor of the Year.
pic by Alec Smith

Nominations are about to close for the first award of 202, so if you would like to make a nomination, now’s the time to do it.

We have up-and-coming youngsters trying to make their mark in the sport; we have those who have passed the youth ranks and are setting their sights higher and on greater things in the sport. They all need recognition of their achievements in as many ways as possible. Just one way is through SAILING Mag Blog ‘Sailor of the Month’ award. It is a sought-after award and one which sits very well on a CV.

The nomination process is made as simple as possible to facilitate participation. To ensure that bureaucracy will not prevent nominations being made, there is absolutely NO requirement for a Club or Class Association to endorse a nomination. ANYONE can submit a nomination.

Now in its 20th year, the Roll of Honour reads Like a Who’s Who of sailing in South Africa.

Who can make nominations? Anyone (individuals, clubs, class associations or administrators) may submit nominations.

What are the criteria? The award is strictly for ‘sailing excellence’ or in exceptional circumstances, for ‘dedication to the sport’.

What is the procedure? All nominations must be fully motivated in writing, and must preferably be accompanied by a pic of the candidate / an action sailing pic aboard his/her boat. Motivations should include current performances, a brief CV of the nominee, and other pertinent, personal background information so that an interesting editorial on the winner may be written.

Submissions should preferably be e-mailed to: editor@sailing.co.za

Monthly winners are featured monthly, with the overall ‘Sailor of the Year’ receiving a substantial cash prize thanks to Raymarine and MDM Marine Services.

Roll of Honour – Sailors of the Year

2019Mike Hayton
2018Tina Plattner
2017Alex Burger & Benji Daniel
2016Rob van Rooyen
2015Stefano Marcia
2014Blaine Dodds
2013Asenathi Jim
2012Roger Hudson
2011Stefano Marcia
2010Asenathi Jim
2009Taariq Jacobs
2008David Hudson
2007Dominique Provoyeur
2006Craig Millar
2005Shaun Ferry
2004Justin Onvlee
2003Dominique Provoyeur
2002Golden Mgedza
2001John Eloff

Check Also

“Talking Sailing” From My Archives. 1985 Vasco Photo-Finish

by Richard Crockett It’s rare that one sees a photo-finish in a coastal ocean race, …