“Talking Sailing” From My Archives. Armstrong Worthy Winners of Sprog Nationals

by Richard Crockett

The Sprog Nationals are always hotly contested affairs, with the 1982 regatta no different and producing new champions in Dave and Richard Armstrong who were followed by Dave Collins and Andrew Fletcher in second and Rob and Gill de Vlieg in third.

Conditions at Boskop were variable from light to the final day being blown out due to too much wind causing all races scheduled for the day not to start.

In summing up the event, Adam French (remember him?) Said: “The standard of sailing was very high, with a lot of good sailors unable to make the top ten. Some of the top Fireball sailors are now campaigning in Sprogs and it is gratifying to the old hands in the class that they are not overwhelmed by this level of competition”.

READ IT ALL HERE:  Pages from 1982 12 – Yachtsman RSA – OCR

Check Also

“Talking Sailing” From My Archives. Yachtsmen of the Year

By Richard Crockett Some random browsing had me stumble upon this report from 1989 when …