September 2019 Raymarine Sailors of the Month – Mike Hayton & David Rae

David Rae & Mike Hayton.
pic by Alec Smith

The Lipton Cup was a ‘hot’ event this year with the Cape 31s making their debut – and they did not disappoint as the racing was slick, fast and incredibly competitive.

But one team ultimately stood out as the boat to beat as they were consistent, quick on all points of the wind, and managed to extricate themselves from being ‘dead on the water’ to real contenders by simply keeping their heads out of the boat and sailing hard and smart.

This was of course the team of Nitro sailing for Witbank Yacht & Aquatic Club, and headed by Mike Hayton and David Rae. Of the 8 races sailed just 2 of their results were outside the top 2 – and incredible set of results in such a demanding regatta. In the final race they were thwarted by kelp and plastic on three different occasions, effectively starting stone last after having to back down off kelp on the start line. But they clawed their way back through the fleet having gone from winners to runners-up, fighting themselves back into the winners slot much to the disappointment of Gerry Hegie and Asenathi Jim on the Royal Cape Yacht Club boat who came so close to pulling of what, to many, was an impossible overall victory.

Although Hayton and Rae were the brains behind this team, every single crew member deserves being mentioned as collectively they won the Lipton Cup. They were: Paul Allardice; Joweal Claasen; Markus Progli; Gary Sindler & Murray Willcocks.

2019 Sailors of the Month

FebruaryDale Kushner
MarchMike Hayton
AprilMalcolm Hall
MayPaul Lagesse
JulySean Kavanagh
AugustAndrew Tarboton
SeptemberMike Hayton & David Rae
OctoberCampbell Alexander & Dave Herridge
NovemberMarkus Progli & Richard Hutton-Squire
DecemberMatt Ashwell and Rivaldo Arendse

Roll of Honour – Sailors of the Year

2019Mike Hayton
2018Tina Plattner
2017Alex Burger & Benji Daniel
2016Rob van Rooyen
2015Stefano Marcia
2014Blaine Dodds
2013Asenathi Jim
2012Roger Hudson
2011Stefano Marcia
2010Asenathi Jim
2009Taariq Jacobs
2008David Hudson
2007Dominique Provoyeur
2006Craig Millar
2005Shaun Ferry
2004Justin Onvlee
2003Dominique Provoyeur
2002Golden Mgedza
2001John Eloff

Check Also

“Talking Sailing” From My Archives. 2024 Vasco – A Fast Race So Far

by Richard Crockett If ever there was a Vasco race to do it was this …