February 2020 Raymarine Sailors of the Month – Crew of Love Water

Sailors of the Month. Skipper Craig Sutherland and his crew of Michael Clarke; Richard Garratt; Philip Lambrecht; Michael Minkley; Antoine Rabaste; Brian Thompson and Ken Venn shortly after crossing the finish line in Rio.
pic by Alec Smith

The Cape to Rio Race 2020 will be remembered for two things for years to come. The manner in which Love Water, the 70-foot trimaran blasted her way across the South Atlantic in record time, and the ferocious storm through which the fleet had to battle to get to the finish line.

All eyes were on the battle between Love Water and Maserati as these two racked up huge mileage – 600nm-plus – day after day as with sails packed with wind they diced each other, the lead changing several times, until Love Water grabbed the race by the scruff of the neck and took line honours.

Her time of 7 days 20 hours and 24 minutes annihilated the previous record by some 3 days.

This was a performance which had all followers on the YB Tracker spellbound as the crew averaged some 22 knots across the South Atlantic.

It’s a performance still being talked about many days after the finish, and that is thanks to skipper Craig Sutherland and his crew of: Michael Clarke; Richard Garratt; Philip Lambrecht; Michael Minkley; Antoine Rabaste; Brian Thompson and Ken Venn.

This was an exceptional performance which is why this team get the accolades this month.

2020 Sailors of the Month

FebruaryCrew of Love Water
MarchRijk Kuttel & Chris Garratt
AprilHasso Plattner

Roll of Honour – Sailors of the Year

2019Mike Hayton
2018Tina Plattner
2017Alex Burger & Benji Daniel
2016Rob van Rooyen
2015Stefano Marcia
2014Blaine Dodds
2013Asenathi Jim
2012Roger Hudson
2011Stefano Marcia
2010Asenathi Jim
2009Taariq Jacobs
2008David Hudson
2007Dominique Provoyeur
2006Craig Millar
2005Shaun Ferry
2004Justin Onvlee
2003Dominique Provoyeur
2002Golden Mgedza
2001John Eloff

Nominate Your Sailor of the Month – HERE’S HOW
The nomination process is made as simple as possible to facilitate participation. To ensure that bureaucracy will not prevent nominations being made, there is absolutely NO requirement for a Club or Class Association to endorse a nomination. ANYONE can submit a nomination.

Who can make nominations? Anyone (individuals, clubs, class associations or administrators) may submit nominations.

What are the criteria? The award is strictly for ‘sailing excellence’ or in exceptional circumstances, for ‘dedication to the sport’.

What is the procedure? All nominations must be fully motivated in writing, and must preferably be accompanied by a pic of the candidate / an action sailing pic aboard his/her boat. Motivations should include current performances, a brief CV of the nominee, and other pertinent, personal background information so that an interesting editorial on the winner may be written.

Submissions should preferably be e-mailed to: editor@sailing.co.za

Monthly winners are featured monthly, with the overall ‘Sailor of the Year’ receiving a substantial cash prize thanks to Raymarine and MDM Marine Services.

Check Also

“Talking Sailing” From My Archives. Downham Inter-club

By Richard Crockett When I tumbled upon the report on the Downham Inter-Club regatta for …