6th Entry for the Vasco da Gama Race received

Bellatrix pic by Sophie Thompson
pic by Sophie Thompson

The defending Vasco da Gama Race champion of the last two races, Gregg Hurter, has just entered next year’s race which will be from Durban to Port Elizabeth.

Hurter has successfully campaigned his Beneteau First 40 Bellatrix and won the last two races overall on handicap.

He is a seasoned Vasco veteran who cut his teeth in the race during the good old days when the race was run between Durban and East London, and when fleets were in the 20 to 40 boat range. Plus, he was still a schoolboy then, so he brings a lot of experience and knowledge of the expected conditions with him.

Hurter chooses to sail with an eclectic bunch of crew, yet manages to mould them into a cohesive winning team. They’re a friendly bunch, many with a ton of sea miles under their belts.

It is rare for anyone to win this race overall on handicap three times in a row, and Hurter is keen to see if he can do this. If he does he will join fellow Point Yacht Club member Nigel Milln who won the 2008, ‘09 and ‘10 races aboard his Fast 42 Skitzo. Will these two become members of an exclusive club?

Hurter is the reigning Point Yacht Club ‘Yachtsman of the Year’ and also this year’s winner of the prestige SAS KZN Bluewater Trophy.

“To have the defending champion commit and enter so early is a massive boost for the race to Port Elizabeth in April next year” said Jon Marshall, Rear Commodore Keelers of the organising Club.

Entries now include:
Al Mount Gay Rum – Rob van Rooyen
Majimoto – Jon Marshall
Malgas – Anthony Bailes
Bellissama – Vernon & James Goss
Yolo – Dale Kushner
Bellatrix – Gregg Hurter

Information from Lucy De Freitas – sailing@pyc.co.za

Check Also

“Talking Sailing” From My Archives. Downham Inter-club

By Richard Crockett When I tumbled upon the report on the Downham Inter-Club regatta for …