“Talking Sailing” From My Archives. More Vasco Pics & 1985 Photo-Finish

1985 Vasco. The IOR winner on handicap was Spirit of Appletiser (foreground) beaten in a neck-and-neck finish in East London after 240 nautical miles of Ocean Racing. Shaya Moya took line honours – just. This was probably the closest finish for line honours ever.

By Richard Crockett

I am still ploughing through scanning all the B&W Vasco da Gama Race images I have in my archives, and will then tackle the colour slides and prints.

There are 20 new images today, with the photo-finish between ‘Shaya Moya’ and ‘Spirit of Appletiser’ being a key one, as that finish way back in 1985 was undoubtedly the closest finish for line honours in the history of the race. ‘Shaya Moya’ took line honours, but her very close second spot over the line gave ‘Spirit of Appletiser’ the overall handicap honours.

This finish was undoubtedly a highlight and lifetime memory of the Vasco da Gama Race for both Brian Tocknell (‘Shaya Moya’) and Chris Bonnet (Spirit of Appletiser’).

There are many faces today, both known and sadly faces I simply cannot put names to. Alert readers are welcome to assist in providing more info.

The pile has definitely thinned out, yet I have enough for several day to come and will keep scanning until I have done them all.

So please SHARE, LIKE and COMMENT.

1977 Vasco. The crew of ‘Sea Jade’ in a jovial mood on a dead run deep in the Agulhas current. Note the genoa boomed out on the starboard side. 
L-R. Hans van Nelson; JJ Smit; Dick Jones – skipper; Sean Jones; Mike Pienaar – and Mike Rushworth took the pic. Sean Jones is doing the race this year (2022) aboard Regardless.

1982 Vasco. The crew of Close Ahead.
L-R. John Cookson; Peter Atkinson; Roy Close & David James.

1982 Vasco. The crew of Gemini.
L-R. Dave Fritchley; Pat Fritchley; Glen Saunders; Steve Senekal; Mike Wakeman & Malcolm White.

1987 Vasco. Brian Tocknell with the crew of Revelation.
L-R. Steve Rogers; Geoff Williams; Jerry Harrison; Neil Tocknell; Brian Tocknell; Kevin Taylor; Gary Ninow & John Banfield.

Magic Carpet finishing in East London.
L-R. Dave Cox; Derick Warne; John Gordon-Thompson; A Barker; D Brink & B Mackenzie.

1983 Vasco. Now these were the most important ladies in East London in 1983 as they were the ones who cooked and served the breakfasts as soon as a boat finished and irrespective of the time of day or night. And what a damn good breakfast it was too. Sadly I cannot remember all their names, although second from the right is Penny.
pic by Mike Rushworth

1983 Vasco. The SA Navy crew of Cape of Good Hope (L26) with skipper Marco Constant second from the left.
pic by Mike Rushworth

1985 Vasco. East London Yacht Club Commodore Mac Vosloo (right) who sailed Thekwini. They won the Bentley Nuttall RCOD trophy plus the NSRI Trophy. I just wish I could remember the names of the crew?

1985 Vasco. Jerry Harrison (extreme right) skippered Umlelo and won the Paper Pack Trophy.
L-R. Bill Dunnit; unknown; MIke Rushworth; unknown; Nancy Pierce-Jones & Jerry Harrison.

1985 Vasco. Chris Bonnet (with beard) skippered Spirit of Appletiser to a handicap victory, winning the Wilbur Ellis trophy.
To the left of Bonnet is Dave Vinnicombe – the others being unknown!

Some of the Vasco organisers.
L-R. John Rennie – Commodore PYC; Nancy Pierce-Jones; Dawn Rennie & Bob Tudehope – Rear Commodore Keelers PYC;
Bob Tudehope’s son John is competing in this years (2022) race aboard his Fast 42 Adios.

Vasco year unknown. The crew of Take Five – a Farr 38.
L-R. Dave Rushton; Norman Crowe; Pat Wright; Sean Rushton & Pierre Pettit.

Vasco year unknow. Skippers at the race briefing.
L-R. Stan Feigenbaum – Woodrose; Dennis Spalding – Origin); Dave Deacon – Phephezela: Adam Rice – Origin; Glen Saunders – Gemini & Mark Lory – Carina.

Vasco year unknown. Skippers at the race briefing.
L-R. Guy Reynolds – Commodore RNYC; Tim Jordaan – Black Jed; Terry Clarence – Transformer; Gavin Smith – Take Five; Jack Ligetti – Crows Nest & Peter Dominie – Take Five.

Vasco Skippers at the race briefing.
L-R. Paul Steinhardt – Black Magic; Greg de Beyer – Brightwater Fox; Kevin Wade-Lehman – Transformer; Brian Tocknell – Shaya Moya & Dave Cox – Magic Carpet.

Vasco. Gemini heading for the start.

Vasco. Skippers at the race briefing.
L-R. Mike Abdinor – Commodore ELYC; Euguene du Toit – Raved; Fred Smith – Morty; Chris Bonnet – Pursuit; Lief Klang – Johali; Nancy Pierce-Jones; Richard Glanville – Wesbank & Ian Macphereson – Moonshadow.

Vasco – probably 1978. Outre Mer was skippered by Brian Tocknell.

1988 Vasco. Tony Hertzburger, owner of Vuarnet Roulette, thanks the organisers. On his left is Carol King, and to her left is Derick Warne who skippered Vuarnet Roulette.