Sailor of the month

SAILING, in conjunction with MDM Marine Services, North Sails and Southern Spars, sponsor the ‘Sailor of the Year’ Award. The overall ‘Sailor of the Year’ receives a substantial cash prize.

Sponsored by:

Who can make nominations? Anyone may submit nominations.
What are the criteria? The award is strictly for ‘sailing excellence’ or in exceptional circumstances, for ‘dedication to the sport’.
What is the procedure? Nominations must be fully motivated in writing, and accompanied by a head-and-shoulders picture of the candidate, plus an action sailing pic aboard his/her boat. Motivations must include current performances, a brief CV of the nominee, and other pertinent, personal background information (age, school, employment, home town etc) so that an interesting editorial on the winner may be written. Failure to submit the required material will result in the nomination not being considered.

Submissions to be e-mailed to:

Sailor of the Year – Role of Honour

The SAILING Mag Blog ‘Sailor of the Year’ role of honour consists of many fine names of top South African yachties. The latest sailors to receive the SAILING Magazine Blog ‘Sailor of the Year’ award are Alex Burger & Benji Daniel who won the 29er Worlds in August 2017. This is the very first time …

Posted in News, Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

Sailors of the Year – Alex Burger & Benji Daniel

by Richard Crockett It is never easy as a judge deciding who is the SAILING Mag Blog ‘Sailor of the Year’ as competition for the top spot is always tight. This year was no different, although two young sailors stood out head and shoulders above everyone else, and were a unanimous choice of the four …

Posted in News, Sailor of the Month | 1 Comment

December 2017 Sailor of the Month – Mike Hayton

Mike Hayton’s Nitro sailing team are now in their fourth year of campaigning in Cape Town, and not only do their results continue to impress, but they’ve now started competing in the offshore races being offered, and their results there are nothing to be scoffed at! In the two offshore races this year, Nitro has …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

October 2017 Sailor of the Month – Alex Burger

Alex Burger and Benji Daniel have each previously done a 29er Worlds, but earlier this year they teamed up for the 2017 worlds – and ultimately won it in fine style too! Alex was on trapeze and Benji on the helm. They had intense training sessions in both Durban and Cape Town, and were expertly …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

September 2017 Sailor of the Month – Benji Daniel

It would be a travesty if Benji Daniel and his crew Alex Burger were not widely recognised for winning the 29er World Championships in such grand style. Well they are now (again!) as Benji is our Sailor of the Month for September – and a very fitting and deserving winner he is too, especially as …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

August 2017 Sailor of the Month – Blaine Dodds

One simply runs out of superlatives with which to describe Blaine Dodds and his ability to always be in the hunt for major Hobie titles, irrespective of where he competes in the world. He also has too many podium finishes at world championships to be able to keep count! In the recent Hobie Multiclass Worlds …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

JULY 2017 Sailor of the Month – Andrew Tarboton

The Musto Skiff World Championships were held in Palma, Spain during June, and Tarboton finished 3rd in a very competitive fleet of 63 boats with 14 races in a good cross-section of conditions. He started his sailing career at the Henley-Midmar Yacht Club in 1993 racing in an Optimist as well as crewing for either …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

June 2017 – Calvin Gibbs

Gibbs started his sailing career at Imperial Yacht Club in Optimists, quickly taking to the sport and working his way up through the ranks to the top of the leader-board. He won the 2012 Optimist Youth Nationals, plus the selection regatta. He competed in the 2013 Optimist African Champs, placing second in the Optimists. Just …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

May 2017 – Jonathan Ham

Jonathan Ham was recently crowned the Dolphin class National champion. The fact that his crew, Ruth Avierinos, had never sailed before did not seem to bother him at all, and in his own quiet and very cheerful way he managed to teach her the skills of sailing, and together they took gold. This is Jonathan’s …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

April 2017 – Lord Irvine Laidlaw

Lord Laidlaw puts a remarkable amount into sailing in South Africa. He sponsors events, flies in world class race officers to run them and has South Africans on his yachts when he races internationally. Now he has underwritten the new Cape 31. The yacht not only looks sensational, it had also achieved 8 orders within …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

March 2017 – Mikhayla Bader

At just 22 years young Mikhayla has already crammed so much sailing into her life, and done so much to support and administer the sport at all levels. She is a Commerce Student and a staunch member of the UCT Yacht Club, committee member, organiser and planner of numerous successful sailing campaigns. She was the …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

February 2017 – Matt Ashwell

Matt Ashwell (13) learnt to sail at Milnerton Aquatic Club when he was nine. His talent immediately came to the fore, so naturally he advanced in the sport very quickly. During the Youth Nationals at Theewaters in December he won the Optimist title for the second consecutive year. This was no easy feat as he …

Posted in Sailor of the Month | Leave a comment

Roll of Honour

Sailors of the Month – 2017
February   Matt Ashwell
March        Mikhayla Bader
April          Lord Irvine Laidlaw
May           Jonathan Ham
June          Calvin Gibbs
July           Andrew Tarboton

Sailors of the Year
2016  Rob van Rooyen
2015  Stefano Marcia
2014  Blaine Dodds
2013  Asenathi Jim
2012  Roger Hudson
2011  Stefano Marcia
2010  Asenathi Jim
2009  Taariq Jacobs
2008  David Hudson
2007  Dominique Provoyeur
2006  Craig Millar
2005  Shaun Ferry
2004  Justin Onvlee
2003  Dominique Provoyeur
2002  Golden Mgedza
2001  John Eloff