Mirabaud Sailing Video Award

Rob Dickinson (Orillo Films) is the winner of the second edition of the Mirabaud Sailing Video Award.

The winning video was selected by the international jury of the Mirabaud Sailing Video Award video competition. It is a very dynamic clip, which summarizes team AkzoNobel’s journey in the Volvo Ocean Race.

English producer Rob Dickinson submitted a film recounting team AkzoNobel’s journey in the Volvo Ocean Race ‘17-‘18. A very dynamic and entertaining one-minute clip that combines sailing, emotions and human spirits.

The competition brought together 28 videos, which were viewed online more than 350,000 times.

“Beautifully crafted in the edit, nice work. Great use of music and audio – punchy” said Shirley Robertson, a two-time Olympic champion and CNN Mainsail anchor.

Second in the ranking, Australian director Beau Outteridge dared to submit a funny and offbeat video shot behind the scenes of the Australian Olympic sailing team. “Beau found an angle that had not been done before and the athletes were on-board and happy to show their humorous side – something that can quite often be a challenge in a world full of media trainers!” commented Daniel Smith, World Sailing Communication & Digital Manager.

The Volvo Ocean Race was widely represented in this competition, as illustrated by the video shot by Ugo Fonollá, who took third place. On-board Reporter during the regatta, he submitted a powerful video that describes team MAPFRE’s approach to Cape Horn.

2018 rankings
Mirabaud Sailing Video Award (Professional filmmakers)
1. Rob Dickinson (Orillo Films) – A journey to remember
2. Beau Outteridge – What Noise Do The Rudders Make ?
3. Ugo Fonollá – Cape Horn

Special Jury award (Best video produced by a professional sailor)
1. Stan Thuret – The greatest race in the world

Public award (votes on internet)
1. Erwan Pelisset (EP Medias) – One race – One cause – One Ocean

See the 2018 Videos HERE