July 2018 ‘Raymarine’ Sailor of the Month – Tina Plattner

Tina Plattner.
pic by Nico Martinez / 52 SUPER SERIES

Sailing in the TP 52 Super Series during June in Croatia, Tina Plattner and her crew, with a generous number of South Africans aboard, scored a number of ‘firsts’ which have tipped the scales in her favour to win this award for the second time this year.

It is rare that anyone gets to win the “Sailor of the Month’ title twice in one year, yet Tina Plattner has done just that, and added another ‘first’ to the following achievements in Croatia:

• she became the first female helm ever to win a TP52 race.
• she became the first helm to triumph at their first ever 52 Super Series regatta.
• she led the first ever South African team to win on the world’s leading grand prix circuit.

Plus, they nearly won overall, but had to be content with 2nd overall – a stunning achievement anyway, and extremely valuable experience for her and the local crew mates.

June was a big month for women in sailing as the first women to win a Volvo Ocean Race were aboard Dongfeng Racing Team when they slipped past their opposition within sight of the finish line to claim the race title. It’s just wonderful that one of our own women achieved glory on the international circuit too.

NOMINATE Your Sailor of the Month – Now. See how to do it HERE

SAILING, in conjunction with MDM Marine Services and Raymarine sponsor the ‘Sailor of the Year’ Award.
MDM Marine Services are the exclusive importers of Raymarine products into South Africa.
Raymarine are a world leader in high performance marine electronics for the recreational boating and light commercial marine markets.

2019 Sailors of the Month

FebruaryDale Kushner
MarchMike Hayton
AprilMalcolm Hall
MayPaul Lagesse
JulySean Kavanagh
AugustAndrew Tarboton
SeptemberMike Hayton & David Rae
OctoberCampbell Alexander & Dave Herridge
NovemberMarkus Progli & Richard Hutton-Squire
DecemberMatt Ashwell and Rivaldo Arendse

Roll of Honour – Sailors of the Year

2019Mike Hayton
2018Tina Plattner
2017Alex Burger & Benji Daniel
2016Rob van Rooyen
2015Stefano Marcia
2014Blaine Dodds
2013Asenathi Jim
2012Roger Hudson
2011Stefano Marcia
2010Asenathi Jim
2009Taariq Jacobs
2008David Hudson
2007Dominique Provoyeur
2006Craig Millar
2005Shaun Ferry
2004Justin Onvlee
2003Dominique Provoyeur
2002Golden Mgedza
2001John Eloff


Check Also

March 2020 Raymarine Sailors of the Month – Rijk Kuttel & Chris Garratt

‘Ballyhoo Too’ sailed an incredibly good Cape to Rio race, yet her performance was very …