RS Tera Worlds – Final Day Report, pics & FINAL Results

Check out the pics from Angela Gray here: Results: RS Tera World Championships 2014 FINAL results Malcolm Osborne reports The final day of the 2104 Tera World Championships on Swartvlei Lagoon produced sailing in the best wind of the week. At the scheduled start time of 10:00 a light south easter was blowing already, with a forecast of it picking up later in the day. This it did after the first race, but swung to the south, causing ... Read More »

RS Tera Worlds – FINAL Results

Congratulations to the medallists who are: RS Tera Pro Fleet (30 boats & 12 races) 1 James Hellstrom 2 Jason Gray 3 Christopher Crawford   RS Tera Sport Fleet (27 boats & 12 races) 1 Arin Long 2 Michaela Robinson 3 Benji Daniel The full results are here: RS Tera World Championships 2014 FINAL results Read More »

Rio Set For Largest Olympic Class Regatta Ever

More than 320 sailors from 34 nations will compete at the first test event of the Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games from 2-9 August from the Marina da Gloria. The Aquece Rio – International Sailing Regatta 2014 is set to be the largest Olympic classes sailing competition ever held in Brazil and many of the world’s top competitors are ready for the test. Organised by Rio 2016 and Confederação Brasileira de Vela (CBVela) in conjunction with the International Sailing ... Read More »

RS Tera Worlds – report, pics & results

Check out the images by Angela Gray here: Results here: rs tera PROVISIONAL DAY four race 8 Malcolm Osborne reports. Day Four of the Tera World Championships on Swartvlei in the S. Cape – a cool overcast day,  with some doubts whether ther would be any races. But a light south easter filled in as usual in the afternoon and race 7 could be completed. In the Tera Pro fleet, another new name appeared at the front of ... Read More »

RS Tera Worlds – Day 3 report, pics and results

View the pics by Angela Gray at: Results: Sailwave results for RS Tera Word Championship 2014 at Pine Lake Marina, Sedgefield South Africa 2014 end day 3 after protest Malcolm Osborne reports With it being apparent that there is insufficient wind at the scheduled start time of 09:00, the start time for day three of the 2014 Tera World Championships was set for 10:00. At this time, conditions were the same as on previous days – flat calm.After 12:00, ... Read More »

RS Tera Worlds – Day 2 report, results & pics

Follow this links for an album of great pics from Angela Gray: Results here:  Sailwave results for RS Tera Word Championship 2014 at Pine Lake Marina, Sedgefield South Africa 2014 day 2 race 4 Malcolm Osborne reports The race start for day two of the Tera World Championships was scheduled for 09:00, so Race Officer Bruce Keytel mustered his mark layers early to lay a course with a fluky northerly wind, which was expected to go to the west.. ... Read More »

RS Tera Worlds – day 2 results

The wind did not play ball today so just 1 race was sailed. Provisional Results for day 2: Sailwave results for RS Tera Word Championship 2014 at Pine Lake Marina, Sedgefield South Africa 2014 day 2 race 4   Read More »

RS Tera Worlds – Racing Commences

Malcolm Osborne reports RESULTS: file:///C:/Users/Richard/AppData/Local/Temp/WPM$ND9H.htm IMAGES by Angela Gray: The 2014 Tera World Championships got under way officially on Sunday on Swartvlei Lagoon, Sedgefield, with the tune-up race followed by the Opening Ceremony. To the musical accompaniment by the local Sedgefield brass band,  competitors were welcomed by the organisers and invited dignitaries. Then the `mixing of the waters’ ceremony took place before the President of the International RS Tera Class Association, Frans Boer, declared the World Championships open. On ... Read More »

Vasco da Gama Race – 2nd Entry Received

The second entry for next years Vasco da Gama Race has been received from Anthony Bailes of Port Elizabeth who will sail his L34 Malgas. Anthony is a seasoned sailor who has been steadily upgrading his boat and honing his crew, with their sights now firmly set on the race next year. The start is on Saturday 25 April 2015. Information from Lucy de Freitas ( of the Point Yacht Club, or, Read More »

Volvo Ocean race – Team Brunel take first blood in debut battle of Volvo Ocean 65s

Team Brunel stole pole position in the first competitive meeting of the new Volvo Ocean 65s, as the inaugural edition of the Marina Rubicón Round Canary Islands race took place in Lanzarote this week. Bouwe Bekking’s crew, who completed the 650-nautical mile course in 57 hours and 39 minutes, secured first prize in a race against two of their Volvo Ocean Race rivals – the Spanish-backed boat skippered by Iker Martínez, and the all-women’s crew of Team SCA. “The race ... Read More »

RSA 49er Team – Getting Things Right

Over the past few months we have been a bit light on competition training, and focusing more on getting the finer details right. The difference between the top of the fleet and the back of the fleet is huge, but the difference between the back and solid mid fleet racing is tiny, and every little detail and technique which is executed smoothly gains you those millimetres on the teams who don’t. And when it is just millimetres which will determine ... Read More »

America’s Cup – Joint Statement from Teams Luna Rossa Challenge; Artemis Racing; Ben Ainslie Racing and Team France

Following the announcement of Team Australia – representative of the Hamilton Island Yacht Club, Challenger of Record of the 35th America’s Cup – of its intention to withdraw from the competition, the teams Luna Rossa Challenge, Artemis Racing, Ben Ainslie Racing and Team France – jointly with the yacht clubs they represent – confirm their full support to the event, regardless from the host venue that will be selected. The four teams, who have so far made clear their involvement, ... Read More »

Moth Worlds – Jof Heathcote 35th Ovearall

When sailing in a new class for the first time especially when there are over 170 boats competing, one needs to put the achievement of Jof Heathcote into perspective. A 35th overall in this highly competitive fleet which was peppered with Olympic Medallists, World Champions and America’s Cup sailors – is a damn fine result. His results were: Jonathan Heathcote     Point YC    RSA 20; 13; 25; (36); 17; 34; (43); 30; 34; (50); 38; 26; 26; 38; 41 Gold ... Read More »

Vasco da Gama Race 2015 – The First Entry Has Been Received

Just two days ago the Notice of Race and Entry forms plus other documents were sent out via e-mail to approximately 1300 yachties nationwide. At the same time the race Facebook page was launched. The response to next year’s Vasco da Gama Ocean Race has been phenomenal so far with countrywide interest. Almost immediately we received our very first entry – that being A.L Mount Gay Rum – the Farr 38 from Cape Town. Her owner is Rob van Rooyen ... Read More »

Moth Worlds – Day 6 Video, Results and Report

Jof Heathcote continues to defy by not disgracing himself in the Moth Worlds Gold fleet. But those who know Jof know that he is not one to compete with everything he has at all times. He’s not a quitter, nor does he like making mistakes. He’s results driven and proving time and again in this fleet what prodigous talent he has. His day 6 overall position is 37th in a fleet topping out at over 170 boats! Jonathan Heathcote    ... Read More »