A Very Happy 2022

And a very happy new year to all the followers and supporters of this Blog.

May 2022 be a year of health, wealth and happiness without the COVID madness and wanton destruction we saw in 2021.

Ease into the year gently today with this selection of pics from 2021.

Enjoy this random selection of pics from last year.

David Abromowitz

John Martin

JJ Provoyeur

An impressive line-up of Dabchicks at the hastily cobbled together Nationals.

The Royal Cape Yacht Club marina on the morning of the start – 50 years ago today (16 January 1971).

1971 Rio Race – Voortrekker I crew.
Back row. Capt. James McNaughton (navigator); Mike Avery; Karl Esterhuysen.
Front row. Bertie Reed; Capt. Mickey Thomas (skipper); Les Fella.

Sprinter, skippered by Molly Warr, and crewed only by women.

Peter Roelofze, Piet Scheepers, JJ Provoyeur, Bertie Reed and Guy Bernadin celebrate with Bertie who will be inducted into the Single-handed Hall of Fame later this month (July 2006).

Sharpie. Glen Durham of the Glendee YC and his crew in their Sharpie Mkonto.

Ted Kuttel is all smiles as he hams it up with the media boat during a fun race around the islands of Mauritius.

At Clube Maritimo Professor Norinha Feio, Director of Sport for Mozambique, hands the Finn prize to overall winner Stuart Donkin.

Before the start of the first race. Flags gaily decorate the club and Hans starts putting on his sweaters on the slipway…

Dual Flyer, the Scape 39 catamaran, skippered by Brad Rayson.

1982 Lipton Cup Winners.
L-R. Jimmy Melville; Mrs Anne Varnals of Lipton SA; Iain Park-Ross; Derek Warne; Harry Ellens – skipper.

The red boat is Nitro with Orion DYP to windward and Nemesis astern.